/webmail/contacts/contacts-settings

Contacts settings

Visualization

Set the methods for viewing and sorting your contacts by choosing which address book to use as default when you add a new contact.

Address Books

Organize and manage your personal and shared address books.

Icon Action Description
activeSyncIcon Enable ActiveSync By enabling synchronization via the Exchange ActiveSync protocol, you will be able to consult and modify the address book from all devices and email clients supporting this protocol.
activeSyncNoIcon Disable ActiveSync Disable synchronization via the Exchange ActiveSync protocol.
shareIcon Share Share an address book.
editIcon Edit Edit an address book.
trashIcon Delete Delete an address book.
eyeIcon Enable subscription Make visible an address book that other users have shared with you.
eyeNoIcon Disable subscription Hide an address book that other users have shared with you.

Personal address book

Personal address books are non-default address books used to better organize your contacts. To create, edit, or delete a personal address book, click on the Settings icon SettingsIcon at the top right corner of the navigation bar and select Address book in the Contacts section of the sidebar.

  • Settings > Address books

To create a personal address book, enter the name of the address book you wish to create and click on the + button to add it to the list of address books displayed in the sidebar of the Address Book module.

You can also create a new personal address book by clicking on the + Address book button in the sidebar of the Contacts module.

To edit a personal address book, click on the Edit icon editIcon in correspondence with the address book you wish to modify, perform the editing operations, and click on the Save to confirm.

You can also edit a personal address book by right-clicking on the name of the address book in the sidebar of the Address book module, selecting the Rename item.

To enable ActiveSync (synchronization of a personal address book), click on the icon enable ActiveSync ActiveSyncIcon in correspondence of the address book you want to synchronize. By enabling synchronization via the Exchange ActiveSync protocol, it will be possible to consult and modify the address book from all devices and email clients that support this protocol.

Access to the Exchange ActiveSync service is available only for domains with a Professional or Enterprise plan.

To disable ActiveSync on a personal address book, click on the disable ActiveSync icon ActiveSyncNoIcon in correspondence of the address book you no longer want to synchronize.

You can enable or disable the ActiveSync synchronization of a personal address book also by right-clicking on the name of the address book in the Address book module sidebar, selecting the item Sync, ActiveSync. Synchronization with ActiveSync cannot be deactivated on the default directory.

To share a personal address book, click on the Share icon ShareIcon corresponding to the address you wish to share. Then, enter the name or email address of the user you intend to share the address book with, click on the + button to add it to the list, and assign it the address book management permissions. Click on the Save button to confirm the operation.

You can also share a personal address book by right-clicking on the name of the address book in the Address book module sidebar, and selecting the Share item.

To delete a personal address book, click on the Trash icon TrashIcon corresponding to the address book you wish to delete and confirm the operation by clicking on the Delete button.

You can delete a personal address book, with the exception of the default one, by right-clicking on the name of the address book in the Address book module sidebar, and selecting the Delete item.

Save contacts automatically

This feature allows you to automatically save all contacts that are not already present in your personal or company address books, and choose which address book to add them to.

To set the automatic saving of contacts, click on the Settings icon SettingsIcon in the upper right corner of the navigation bar and select the heading Headings in the Address book section in the sidebar.

  • Settings > Address books

To activate the automatic saving of contacts, activate the option Automatically save mail recipients not present in the phonebook and select the address book in which to save the contacts.

Shared address books

The shared address books are address books that other users of your domain have shared with you by assigning you specific reading or writing permissions.

To add, modify, or delete a shared address book, click on the Settings icon SettingsIcon at the top right corner of the navigation bar and select the Address book in the Contacts section in the sidebar.

  • Settings > Address books

To subscribe a shared address book, enter the name or email address of the owner of the address book you want to subscribe to, click on the + button to view the address books available for subscription, and click on the Subscribe or eyeIcon icon next to the name of the address book you wish to subscribe to.

Before being able to subscribe to an address book, the user owning it must have shared it and made it available for subscription.

To delete the subscription to a shared address book, click on the delete subscription icon eyeNoIcon in correspondence with address book you want to unsubscribe from.

We use cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience, continuing to accept their use.

Accept